These 16,282 images need to be put on the timeline? Can you help pin their When?

A fine set of fetlocks: Commissioned by Mr. T. Widger
Description: The full title on this is "Meet at Gracedieu(?) - commissioned by Mr. T. Widger". Maybe Mr. Widger rode to the hunt, and perhaps wanted an image of both he and his steed recorded for posterity(?) It certainly is a fine shot of the pair, and there appears to be a "Big House" in the background. There is an area in Waterford called Gracedieu but was that named after a house or vice versa? It does sound familiar.... The consensus is that this is a member of the Widger family from Waterford. Pretty much all of whom (of working-age) were recorded in the 1911 census as horse-dealers or trainers. The suggestion is that Poole captured this image at Grace Dieu estate, a short distance south of Waterford, and which we have visited before. Based on similar images in the catalogue, and the fashions visible, it seems likely this dates to the first decade or so of the 20th century.... Photographer: A. H. Poole Collection: Poole Photographic Studio, Waterford Date: Catalogue range c.1901-1954. Likely c.1900s-1910s NLI Ref: POOLEWP 0269 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 7012
Tags: ahpoole arthurhenripoole poolecollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland hunt horse nodogs meet gracedieu



Make sure to take my best side?
Description: The Duchess of St. Albans and her guests pose in the garden for Mr. Poole. And it seems a number of the party are careful to show their best sides to the camera! I suspect that the dress and hairstyles will make this a relatively easy shot to date. But how about naming the participants? Have a great weekend everybody! While we don't have names (yet) for the other guests, the lady of the house and commissioner of the image (presumed to be the seated lady with the larger hat) was Grace Bernal-Osborne, Duchess of Saint Albans (c.1846-1926). There's a suggestion that her husband, the 10th Duke of Saint Albans, is not pictured. WIth consensus that the image was likely captured at Newtown Anner House, outside Clonmel, County Tipperary. Probably in around the 1900s. But certainly not after the 1920s. Photographer: A. H. Poole Collection: Poole Photographic Studio, Waterford Date: Catalogue range c.1901-1954. Definitely before c.1926. Likely c.1900s. NLI Ref: POOLEWP 2215 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 7060
Tags: ahpoole arthurhenripoole poolecollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland familygroup duchessofstalbans posed hats hatoriffic



Sunshine, shadows, leafy trees and a fountain in Blessington, Co. Wicklow.
Description: In what appears to be a lovely sunny afternoon in Blessington, when the photographer captures a beautiful image of the Market Hall and Monument/Fountain. This is a beautiful area - some of which has been changed completely when a nearby valley was flooded to provide water and power to the nearby Dublin region! Apart from the "missing belfry" that [https://www.flickr.com/photos/beachcomberaustralia] noted, some of the discussion today was on how recognisable the same scene is today. Also noted was that the local names of the monument and fountain seem to vary - with most sources refering to it as the "Downshire Monument", at at least some as the "Boyle Monument". Whatever the proper title, it seems likely this view of the monument and market house was captured in the first-half (rather than latter-half) of the 1900s-1930s range.... Photographer: Unknown Collection: Eason Photographic Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1900-1939 NLI Ref: EAS_3860 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 6954
Tags: eason easonson easoncollection easonphotographiccollection glassnegative 20thcentury nationallibraryofireland blessington markethall fountain



Traffic Jam in Main Street, Delgany, Co. Wicklow
Description: This Lawrence image of Main Street, Delgany is in considerable contrast to today's reality. This was taken when it was a tiny village, the centre of a rural community with few people, and when three horses and carts could constitute a traffic jam. Today all that has changed, and Delgany is a desired address and almost a commuter town to Ireland's capital city. (PS: Dog Alert Klaxon! :) ) While location and subject were pretty clear, with thanks in particular today to Niall McAuley (and corroberation from others), it seems likely that this image was taken around the turn of the 20th century. Perhaps c.1901. When the census records that Annie Long and her daughter Eveline ran the post office. With a firm suggestion that French has captured the postmistress and her postal assistant at the post office doorway (centre middleground). However, who and what the lads with the fish are up-to (left middleground) is anyone's guess :) Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1865-1914. Perhaps c.1900 NLI Ref: L_ROY_09907 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 7096
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland delgany cowicklow trafficjam



Description: Though the catalogue description implies this classical style building was in Limerick City, this Stereo Pairs image is going to take some identifying! Because, it is certainly not the railway station in Limerick City, nor any other railway station that I know of. And so we are left with the question(s): what and where is it, and is it still standing? And we got our answer - very quickly - when Oretani Wildlife (Mike Grimes) identified this as Armagh Courthouse. And, despite a bombing in the 1990s (which seemingly shifted one of the columns "back a full 9 inches"), it is still standing... Photographers: Frederick Holland Mares, James Simonton Contributor: John Fortune Lawrence Collection: Stereo Pairs Photograph Collection Date: c.1860-1883 NLI Ref: STP_2877 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 7353
Tags: thestereopairsphotographcollection lawrencecollection stereographicnegatives jamessimonton frederickhollandmares johnfortunelawrence williammervynlawrence nationallibraryofireland buildingwithportico foursteps



Description: I've been in Dublin for a long time now but this is not a castle or ruins that I am familiar with. It looks like it was a significant establishment in its day and would be a real attraction today(?) I look forward with interest to what you may be able to find about this... .... And the reason it didn't look familiar (as a castle in or near Dublin) is that it is neither. It is not a castle - but an abbey. And is not in/near Dublin - but more than 30 miles from the capital in Bective, County Meath. The cataloguer may be forgiven however, as the abbey's "castle-like qualities" were seemingly why it was used as a filming-location for 'Braveheart' in the 1990s. Without Mel Gibson peering from a window however, dating may be difficult - not least given how remarkably little has changed in the 100 or so years since this image was captured :) Photographer: Unknown Collection: Eason Photographic Collection Date: c.1900-1939 (possibly after c.1915 when some works were undertaken at the site) NLI Ref: EAS_1727 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 6777
Tags: eason easonson easoncollection easonphotographiccollection glassnegative 20thcentury nationallibraryofireland castleruins ireland bective



General View, Bruckless, Co. Donegal
Description: This is the second time in recent weeks that Bruckless has been mentioned on this stream! This fine Royal sized plate taken by Mr. French shows the remote rural area of the time in fine detail. The other passenger on the jaunting car does not look in the least pleased at having to wait until the photographer has finished :-) As today's contributors have pointed-out, the "other passenger" is a presumed member of the Lawrence/French entourage. We nicknamed him Jaunty in a previous discussion, and though not especially jaunty or animated here, his presence suggests a date in the late 1880s. (As at least some other images captured during the same "trip" were dated to c.1887). The other main topic of discussion today was on the two larger buildings visible - with [https://www.flickr.com/photos/beachcomberaustralia] and [https://www.flickr.com/photos/gnmcauley] identifying them as Bruckless Hall, tannery and Bruckless House. (Though the latter remains, the more central functional-looking building has since been demolished and replaced....) Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1865-1914. Likely late 1880s (as per others in "Jaunty" series) NLI Ref: L_ROY_01505 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 7538
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland bruckless codonegal ireland



Old Church, Co. Galway?
Description: An iconic if pooly captioned(?) image from the Lawrence Collection today. Galway is famous for many things and the window in the foreground is one of those, perhaps even more than the beautiful church in the background? And so today's discussion reflected the two main visible subjects: "Lynch's Window" to the foreground, and the Church of St Nicholas to the rear. The latter has captured our attention before - with today's discussion focusing on how the lack of a clock in the tower helps date the image to before 1898. The former, Lynch's Window, we hadn't previously discussed (despite practically gazing through it a year or so ago :) ). While the inscription below the window reflects a local legend (of a 15th century magistrate who prioritised loyalty to law and city over loyalty to family - and hung his own son), it could well be a folly of it's day. The suggestion being that the window and structure surrounding it were built of otherwise unrelated architectural fragments in the early 19th century. Whether the story or the structure are 15th century truths or 19th century follies, we're absolutely delighted that both remain part of the fabric of such a vibrant and historic city..... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1865-1914. Before c.1898 (clock tower) NLI Ref: L_CAB_00902 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 7476
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland galway countygalway church



Woof, woof, woof!  Friday's child is loving and giving!
Description: No, Morning Mary has not gone barking mad! Mr. Poole's generosity in providing three dogs in full living detail just made her feeling like a good roll in the grass! The Poole collection really does have some fine shots with people and animals therein and this is no exception. The ladies with their dogs on the front porch of the family pile look very relaxed and provide a happy scene to end the week! And while we focused somewhat in the canines in the description, it was (quite rightly) the humans who captured the attention in today's discussion. Beachcomberaustralia, sharon.corbet and Niall McAuley point out that the ladies from the catalogue title ("Miss Malcomson and Lady Clodagh on steps") are likely Lady Clodagh Beresford (daughter of 5th Marquess of Waterford), and a member of the Malcomson family (who had shipyards and mills in Waterford at the turn of the 20th century). Niall McAuley tells us that Lady Clodagh (1879-1957) actually popularised the name Clodagh (there were few to no girls with the given name of "Clodagh" in the country prior). Sticking with the "Clodagh" theme, Niall and O Mac offer pretty firm evidence that this image was captured at Clodagh House in Portlaw, County Waterford, where the Malcomson's lived.... Photographer: A. H. Poole Collection: Poole Photographic Studio, Waterford Date: Catalogue range c.1901-1954. Likely very early in that range. NLI Ref: POOLEWP 1066 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 7624
Tags: ahpoole arthurhenripoole poolecollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland missmalcolmson ladyclodagh spotthedog ruffthecollie sizzlesthedachshund



Chains, corner boys and a rookery?
Description: This unusual church at Monkstown, County Dublin is beautifully captured by Mr. French in this shot. The swinger on the chains, the sitter on the wall and the seeming flock of rooks fluttering above would perhaps appear to suggest a warm summers day? I've passed it many times and wondered at the strange architecture - but put it down to eccentric 19th century tastes... After some of the "changed utterly" images of late, it's delightful to note that this view had hardly changed by the 21st century Google street view. Our 19th century French street view probably dates to the late 1880s or 1890s (not least as, as Niall McAuley tells us, the spire was completed in the early 1880s. And, if it were the late 1890s/1900s, we might expect to see the tram lines/wires visible in similar images dating from that later period). Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1865-1914. Probably c.1880s-90s. Likely mid-1890s NLI Ref: L_CAB_00859 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 8395
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland church monkstown codublin



Howth Castle, Library, Howth, Co. Dublin
Description: It is a bit late for National Book Day which fell in the past week, but for those who love books every day is National Book Day! This castle is a source of great fascination and a fine attraction in a beautiful location! I could imagine many happy days spent reading through the collection on display.... ...And indeed today's eagle-eyes were trained on the bookshelves, spotting 19th century books on farming and animal husbandry. However, it is the shelves and the walls themselves that help us date this photograph. As it seems that this part of Howth Castle was built to designs of architect Edwin Lutyens in 1910/1911. And so this image dates to no earlier than 1911 - and possibly a few years after it. We also learned from today's contributors (and indeed saw for ourselves) that the room is largely as was 100 years hence, and that the St Lawrence/Gaisford family (whose ancestor's trunk is visible here) still call the castle their home.... Photographer: Unknown Collection: Eason Photographic Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1900-1939. Likely c.1910s (certainly >1911) NLI Ref: EAS_1808 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 8851
Tags: eason easonson easoncollection easonphotographiccollection glassnegative 20thcentury nationallibraryofireland howthcastle howth codublin



Crusader, XIII Century, Graiguenamanagh, Co. Kilkenny
Description: From long gone golf clubs, to long gone glory hunters in Graiguenamanagh, County Kilkenny. This fine stone effigy, with superb detail, looks like an interesting subject for a day in which the rain is belting down (at least here in Dublin)! And so we learned that this effigy was (and still is) at the doorway to Duiske Abbey in Graiguenamanagh. We also learned that, while the "crusader" description arose from the cross-legged stance of these types of medieval reliefs, later research suggests that the stance doesn't neccesarily denote a crusader specifically. Whether crusader or not, this depiction of a 13th century knight could perhaps capture William Marshall, the Anglo-Norman knight who founded the abbey in 1204. Or maybe another local, Alan Beg, who offered significant tithes in exchange for a burial at the abbey.... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: c.1865-1914 (perhaps captured c.1900s) NLI Ref: L_ROY_07201 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 6328
Tags: lawrenceroyals robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland crusader graiguenamanagh



Road near Botanic Gardens (Finglas Golf Club), Glasnevin, Co. Dublin
Description: From yesterdays funeral in "God Knows Where" to today's location close to Irelands best known cemetery! If ever there was a location that has "changed, changed utterly" then this surely is it! Finglas Golf Club is no more, the roads and byroads for miles around have been altered beyond recognition. So I perhaps the first to the OSI will tell us where this is? Before we went to the OSI however, a few spotted this similar location hunt on the Glasnevin Heritage FB page. This suggested that the golf course stretched perhaps from Bellevue (off the Tolka Valley Road) to the area of Finglas now occupied by Fairways Estate (which most likely took its name from the course). The general consensus seems to be that we are looking south - with our back to Finglas and looking roughly towards the city. The clubhouse, cottage (left middleground) and sandpit (right middleground) - all now long long gone - were likely those captured in the 1907 OSI 25" map on the Finglas Road. We also learned of some interesting connections to Taoiseach John A Costello, and events of Easter week 1916.... Photographer: Unknown Collection: Eason Photographic Collection Date: c.1900-1939 (though possibly before c.1920 when the club apparently closed) NLI Ref: EAS_1804 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 8046
Tags: eason easonson easoncollection easonphotographiccollection glassnegative 20thcentury nationallibraryofireland finglasgolfclub glasnevin botanicgardens



Inver, Co. Donegal - Introducing Jaunty?
Description: While searching our catalogue for suitable photographs to share on this stream, I came across this one. Nothing exceptional I hear you say! But then I had a look at: General View, Bruckless, General View, Fintragh and Church, Killaghtee, all in Donegal. These photos got me thinking, I hope they get you thinking too.... .... And so it seems that "great minds" think alike. The general consensus is that this image (and more than a few others in the Lawrence series) probably captures members of a Lawrence studio "crew". Comprising a jaunting car driver (who seems to change from time to time), almost certainly an assistant (the younger man in the bowler), and perhaps Robert French himself (behind the camera and hence not captured here). The man presumed to be the assistant, and who was quickly nicknamed "Jaunty" today (for his attire and near ubiquitous presence on/near the jaunting car), has since been spotted in a dozen or so Lawrence images. To the extent that we're a little surprised we hadn't spotted him before :) Thanks to mcginley2012, we also learned today that the actual titular subject of the image (Inver Bridge) was washed away in the 1960s. A modern roadbridge now carries the N56 over this stretch of the Eany.... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: c.1880-1900 (likely 1880s) NLI Ref: L_ROY_01503 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 7519
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland inver codonegal ulster



Rev. Cornelius Claffey, at church entrance, full-length portrait
Description: To welcome the new week we have a portrait from the Keogh Collection. This intriguing ecclesiastic capture begs a number of questions all of which I am confident that you will answer! Who was Rev Claffey? Which Church is this? Any idea of the occasion? And our faith (sorry) in getting some answers was well founded. The general concensus is that this is Dom Camillus Claffey, who was abbot of the Cistercian Mount St Joseph Abbey (near Roscrea) from 1944 to 1962. This gives us a very likely subject, possible location, and at least some pause on the catalogue date range. In a veritible "whos/who and whats/what" of eccelisiastical matters and dress, Bernard Healy suggests that this image captures a relatively important occasion or high-mass. Perhaps even the abott's own pontificaliacation, enhattification, inauguration, benediction, or "promotion" into abbot-hood. Maybe taken therefore in 1944. Or taken perhaps just prior (at the monastery), if taken while he was just 'Prior' (of the monastery). Photographer: Brendan Keogh Collection: Keogh Photographic Collection Date: c.1930-1940. Though perhaps sometime later in 1940s... NLI Ref: Ke 301 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 6423
Tags: brendankeogh thekeoghphotographiccollection keoghbrothersltd nationallibraryofireland revcorneliusclaffey churchentrance portrait staff mitre ring



Description: A street in Dublin City? While this is what the catalogue says, I really don't think so! But, if not Dublin, then where is it or even where was it? A busy hilly street somewhere in Ireland, where a Taoiseach might meet a man in a pub with a pint in each hand? At least they had the electric so dating may not be too hard... ... And we have confirmation that indeed this isn't Dublin, but Ludlow Street in Navan, County Meath. Derangedlemur very quickly set us straight, and while his explanation (that he's "memorised all of Google StreetView") was probably intended as a joke, sometimes I do wonder :) Beachcomber reminds us that we have previously seen other Eason photos of Navan similarly mislabelled - something to look out for in future... Photographer: Unknown Collection: Eason Photographic Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1900-1939 NLI Ref: EAS_1728 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 8590
Tags: eason easonson easoncollection easonphotographiccollection glassnegative 20thcentury nationallibraryofireland street horses carts



Wolf's Arch, Kilkenny City, Co. Kilkenny
Description: From the childish charm of Monday to the rustic history of Tuesday! This building in Kilkenny is a very distinctive, and captured in a particularly fine image, with good detail of the arch and adjacent buildings. It looks like early in the day to me, but there are no dogs in evidence and as the old motto goes "Mad dogs and Englishmen go out in the noonday sun"! Thanks to fantastic inputs on this image (including from B-59, Niall McAuley, beachcomberaustralia, O Mac, and guliolopez), we learned a lot more about the subject and date. It is confirmed that this is Rothe House, a late-16th century townhouse in Kilkenny's medieval centre. Built by the merchant Rothe family, there's strong evidence that it was captured in this Lawrence/French image early in the catalogue range - probably the 1860s. The strongest evidence of this (apart from the dress and marvelous mutton-chops of the chaps standing unironically outside the barbers) is the poster beside the arch. The poster advertises a "lecture" in "Electro-Biology and Phrenology" - both common to a branch of practiced "sciences" which were fashionable in the 1850s and 1860s. As part-alternative medicine and part-entertainment... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1865-1914. Likely c.1860s NLI Ref: L_CAB_00982 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 8342
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland wolfsarch kilkennycity ireland



There's a hairy ass fair in the County Clare
Description: Kilkee in Co. Clare rather than Spancil Hill, but lots of asses/donkeys on display! A favourite holiday resort for people from Limerick City and others, it has a beautiful crescent beach with sparkling blue waters and pleasant walks. In this shot it seems as if there is a market or fair in operation - or perhaps it is the donkey rides getting ready for the season? The community's general feeling is that it's the latter, and (based on the buildings visible and not visible) a view of the tourist season perhaps in the 1880s.... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1865-1914. Though perhaps before c.1890s NLI Ref: L_ROY_04230 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 10930
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland kilkee coclare ireland



Sitka National Monument 1962-65, page 92 [Original Caption: Peter Seegama working on ivory]
Description: Creator(s): Department of the Interior. Indian Arts and Crafts Board. Alaska Field Office. ca. 1935-ca. 1983 Series: Correspondence, 1935 - 1983 Record Group 435: Records of the Indian Arts and Crafts Board, 1929 - 1988 Production Date: 1935 - 1983 Access Restriction(s):Unrestricted Use Restriction(s):Unrestricted Contact(s): National Archives at Seattle (RW-SE) 6125 Sand Point Way NE Seattle, WA 98115-7999 Phone: 206-336-5115 Fax: 206-336-5112 Email: [email protected] National Archives Identifier: 40847573 Local Identifier: SEAL-57 Persistent URL: catalog.archives.gov/id/40847573
Owner: The U.S. National Archives
Views: 3654
Tags: “us national archives” “alaska digitization project”



Boyne Valley: Lake House, Boyne Valley, Co. Louth
Description: This fine shot of two canal boats at the lock in a canal would seem appropriate to many counties. While County Louth may not seem the most obvious candidate, yet that is the caption on this lovely Lawrence image. The boats do not appear to be the usual goods vessels, but rather a towing engine and perhaps a pleasure craft? Can anybody enlighten Morning Mary, please? And enlightened I have been. The consensus is that these are touring pleasure craft on a stretch of the Boyne Navigation. Perhaps close to Rossnaree and Newgrange. While not "our" vessel, other similar steam launches seemingly carried tourists from Oldbridge (near Drogheda) to Slane in County Meath. Medea_ry advises that "our" launch may have been one of three named 'Shamrock', 'Tara' and 'Boyne', probably the latter.... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: c.1865-1914 (possibly late 19th C) NLI Ref: L_CAB_07800 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 9931
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland canal boats steampropulsion



Biddy Gray's Crooked Wood, Mullingar, Co. Westmeath
Description: For many in the past (who were not Irish or who were more than one generation away from the island) this might appear to be an idyllic Irish scene. The thatched cottage, the granny sitting on the wall outside the open door, the children, well washed and dressed playing in the yard, and the old gentleman stopping to bid good day to the woman of the house! What could perhaps be more sterotypically Irish than that? Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: c.1865-1914 NLI Ref: L_CAB_06954 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 9748
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland biddygrayscottage westmeath ireland



Bellevue Conservatory, Delgany, Co. Wicklow
Description: A rival to the National Botanical Gardens in the heart of Wicklow? This fine series of glasshouses and conservatory seem to have a strikingly modern design to rival those of the Botanic Gardens! If they still exist what are/were they used for? Commercial or research? Native flowers or exotics? And who put them there? Happy Valentine's day to every one - may you have lots of chocolates, get loads of cards, and generally feel much love today! We got something of a Valentine's present ourselves - in the form of answers to nearly all questions: - Standing? No - the house/etc pulled down in the 1950s - Exotics? Yes - apparently "Many rare exotics" - Who? Peter Shanley - for the estate of Peter La Touche - When? c.1796 - when it was the "largest conservatory in Europe" Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: c.1865-1914 NLI Ref: L_ROY_09902 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 7944
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland bellevueconservatory delgany cowicklow



Photography School
Description: An idyllic summer's day. Captured (not once but twice it seems) on the lawn at Ballinskelligs, I am intrigued by the two "barber shop" poles in the background. What were they for? Happy Fotografic Friday everybody! And so we learned that the beacons (as with much else in this image) are now no longer standing. However, they were likely warnings to vessels not to damage the undersea telegraph cable by dropping or dragging anchor nearby. We also learned that the Ballinskelligs cable station was operated by the Anglo-American Telegraph Company, and later by Western Union. It was closed in 1923. And (clearly) entirely demolished since then.... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1865-1914. Possibly early 1900s NLI Ref: L_CAB_08470 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 28197
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland ballinskelligs cokerry ireland



Westmoreland Street (looking to O'Connell Bridge, including a tram), Dublin City, Co. Dublin
Description: This lovely shot of Westmoreland Street from a high viewpoint is from the Eason Collection, and is todays offering. It even includes a tram, or so the cataloguer says, but I can see a couple of others nearer the bridge. No bazaars or arcades here - but lots of people and modes of transport! As location was already confirmed, much of the discussion (below) on this image centered on the date. The lower-end of the catalogue range (1900) seems about right - though Clery's and the Imperial Hotel signage in the distance might indicate a date after 1902. The upper-end of the range (1939) was definitively lowered - to 1916. As much of this streetscape (and not least the Dublin Bread Company building clearly visible) were destroyed during the events of Easter week 1916.... Photographer: Unknown Collection: Eason Photographic Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1900-1939. Though certainly before Easter 1916. NLI Ref: EAS_1767 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 11528
Tags: eason easonson easoncollection easonphotographiccollection glassnegative 20thcentury nationallibraryofireland westmorelandstreet dublin oconnellbridge



Bazaar, Blackrock, Co. Louth
Description: "Bazaar" a word much used in past years and seldom seen now! An ancient Persian name for an enclosed market, the Bazaar enabled the development of cities in the ancient world. An example in Blackrock therefore might lead to hopes that it would enable the development of a metropolis? Perhaps streetview might show us if it was a success? While the streetview offered during today's investigation doesn't imply a sprawling metropolis, it does confirm that the bazaar is still standing, and now a fruit and veg shop. As well as confirming the location and subject, today's contributors suggest a possible date range: using the visible penny periodicals to refine the five decade catalogue range to a decade or so c.1900. (Seemingly the "1d Pictorial Magazine" was first published c.1899, and the "Scraps Magazine" ceased publication in 1910). Whether the two chaps to the right are visiting the seaside from nearby Dundalk, members of the Casey family (proprieters and sub-postmasters) or just local photo-bombers, we may never know :) Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1865-1914. Likely c.1899-1910 NLI Ref: L_ROY_06742 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 9601
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland bazaar blackrock colouth



Admiralty Recreation Grounds, Castletownbere, Co. Cork
Description: It just isn't cricket, at the moment, with football pitches laid out at the Admiralty Recreation Grounds in Castletownberehaven, County Cork. Today, when the presence of the British fleet is hardly a memory, this ground must appear to be an anachronism. In its time however, it would have had plenty of players - with lots of crews and support staff to play and enjoy the bracing Atlantic air and the joys of football, cricket and other sports. Has it reverted to the wild since this was taken? beachcomberaustralia suggests (and others corroborate) that this image was captured at the Lawrence Cove recreation grounds on Bere Island. With the Lawrence Cove National School as the "robust" looking building on the left. While it seems that the lower-pitch (centre/middle-ground) has reverted somewhat to the wild, the upper-pitch (right/background) is still put to the same use..... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1865-1914. Though likely c.1890s/1900s NLI Ref: L_ROY_08952 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 8419
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland sportsfields recreationgrounds admiralty



Guns and Poses
Description: This crisp and clear shot from the interior of the National Museum of Ireland from Lawrence for today. Four striking pieces of artillery tastefully arrayed among classical sculptures in a round room make for a beautiful display! With thanks for everyone's inputs today, it is confirmed that French captured this image across the way at our neighbour's rotunda, in the National Museum of Ireland. Sharon.corbet advises that these cannon were captured at the Battles of Sobraon or Mahrajpore during the Anglo-Sikh Wars. While no longer displayed like this at the NMI Kildare St museum, Sharon tells us that one sits within the NMI Collins Barracks collection, and two others at McKee barracks near Phoenix Park.... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: c.1880-1900 NLI Ref: L_ROY_03004 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 39230
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland guns statues artillery



Church, Interior Memorial, Ballyshannon, Co. Donegal
Description: A day to remember with a memorial in a church in Ballyshannon in Co. Donegal. At first sight the figures would appear to be police but other services also wore similar helmets at times. It is obviously a memorial to the fallen, as the "reversed" rifles is a sign of respect for the dead. Where is it and who does it commemorate? With thanks to today's contributors, it is confirmed that this image connects to the Tríd an Lionsa sequence we shared last year, and captures a memorial to an RIC inspector who died in events covered in an episode of that TV series. As noted by the guys below, District Inspector William Martin was killed in violent circumstances during the 1889 Land War, while attempting to arrest the "Patriot Priest" Fr James McFadden. The series of trials that followed were among the first in the country to use photographic evidence (evidence which seemingly persuaded the jury to a reduced sentence and plea bargain).... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1865-1914. Though after 1889. NLI Ref: L_ROY_03125 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 7227
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland church memorial ballyshannon



Belfast Bank in Coleraine - an Oxymoron?
Description: Though the doors are shut, we're going to the bank today - in the hope that we will get (a) some old money and (b) goods at the prices that prevailed when this image was taken. The Belfast Bank in Coleraine was a substantial building. And, judging by the curtains on the first floor, the bank's manager lived in the building - as was the practice until relatively recently. Incredible detail was added on the main subject of this image, with a general consensus that the image dates to within a few years of the bank's completion between 1892 & 1894. As noted in the comments, the Belfast Bank was not limited to the province's principal city, with branches throughout the region. The Belfast Banking Company itself was seemingly founded in the 1820s and taken-over by Midland Bank, merging with the now more familiar Northern Bank in the 1970s.... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1880-1900. Though likely mid/late 1890s NLI Ref: L_ROY_04969 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 8414
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland belfastbank coleraine countyderry



Downshire Bridge and the Cut, Banbridge, Co. Down
Description: This lovely image of Banbridge seems to have all the hallmarks of a Robert French image but it is in the Eason Collection. Whoever the photographer was, he decided to do an Irish version of the "Hay Wain" as that hay wain there is way overloaded! Does that give us at least a time of year if not an actual date? As the location was already confirmed, today's discussion focused on the subject and date. On the latter, inputs on the date from beachcomberaus (who reminds us that William Ritchie & Sons started publishing postcards like this from 1903), and Niall McAuley (who trawled more than a few street directories) have helped refine the range to a few years at the end of the first decade of the 20th century. On the subject, [https:[email protected]] and [https:[email protected]] illustrate that "the cut" was a 19th century engineering project - to help horse-drawn traffic through the town. At least some of which was of clearly overfilled carts :) Photographer: Unknown Collection: Eason Photographic Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1900-1939. Likely c.1907-1910 NLI Ref: EAS_1182 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 8518
Tags: eason easonson easoncollection easonphotographiccollection glassnegative 20thcentury nationallibraryofireland bridge banbridge codown



Bridge and Stronghold - The following plates are not lettered and therefore not authentic, Athy, Co. Kerry
Description: This fine shot of the bridge and stronghold at Athy is from the Eason Collection. I have deliberately included the title as shown because it raises questions and of course Athy is NOT in Co, Kerry! The staff at NLI include all information on a file as provided to them regardless of how inaccurate it may seem. When research clarifies the matter and they can include the correct information then they update the file and correct the error! As today's commenters note, we've visited the delightfully named Cromaboo Bridge and White's Castle each previously. [https://www.flickr.com/photos/beachcomberaustralia] suggests that (based on the ivy growth on the castle, and possibly coroberated by the fashions visible on the megazoom[tm]) today's image may predate the previously shared image of White's Castle - which was proposed to date to the 1920s or later.... Photographer: Unknown Collection: Eason Photographic Collection Date: c.1900-1939 (though possibly <1920s per comments) NLI Ref: EAS_2402 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 8676
Tags: eason easonson easoncollection easonphotographiccollection glassnegative 20thcentury nationallibraryofireland bridge castle river



Lynchs Castle, Shop Street, Galway
Description: In a New Year of promise and expectation we have the old reliable Robert French of Lawrence Photography to start us off. Here is Lynch's Castle, Shop Street in Galway on what must have been a quiet day. Today, even early in the morning this street seems to hum with life, those up early, those going home late, those that have little to do but stand around and, inevitably, the music and life of the city! To all a Happy New Year from all at Library Towers and the Three Marys! Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: c.1880-1900 (though possibly later than c.1900, given apparent electric street lighting) NLI Ref: L_ROY_00881 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 7658
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland shopstreet galway lynchscastle



Foto Splendid - Social life
Description: We publish today the english version of the first volume from Foto-Splendid series, “Social Life” #freeforall #shareordie colectiacosticaacsinte.eu/misc/foto-splendid-volume-one-s...
Owner: Costică Acsinte Archive
Views: 2634
Tags: fotosplendid sociallife costicăacsintearchive 20161225



Blessings of Christmas - Beannachtaí na Nollag
Description: To all our followers, to the many who have contributed to the NLI Flickr stream during the year, we wish you a very merry and peaceful Christmas season and all the blessings of a Happy New Year. We have had a wonderful 2016 on the stream, and look forward to another in 2017! This would not be possible without your help, research, contributions and interest, and we would like you to know that all at the NLI are very grateful for all that you have done! Watch this space because we hope to explore even more aspects of the misty past in 2017! Date: c.1876 NLI Ref: Arthur Conan's Xmas Scrapbook, 4188 TX 2
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 8201
Tags: christmas break nollag christmasgreeting ephemera scrapbook xmas arthurconan nationallibraryofireland



General Post Office, O'Connell Street, Dublin City, Co. Dublin
Description: Trams, trams and more trams, the GPO, the Metropole and O'Connell Street from the Clery's side makes an interesting shot for this Thursday Friday. The frieze on the top of the GPO looks different, so we thought perhaps this was taken before the Rising. Not so apparently per comments below. As this will likely be our last posting in 2016 (the centenary/anniversary year of the 1916 Rising) we thought this an appropriate one to close the year with. Thanks all! Photographer: Unknown Collection: Eason Photographic Collection Date: c.1900-1939 (Though after 1920s per comments. And possibly c.1928) NLI Ref: EAS_1743 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 10188
Tags: eason easonson easoncollection easonphotographiccollection glassnegative 20thcentury nationallibraryofireland gpo generalpostoffice metropoletheatrecinemaandrestaurants



Deja Vu?
Description: While I believe that this scene was visited before, I think it was not in the Stereo Pairs format nor was it of this quality! This outstanding image with so much going on is always worth a second visit. And so it was confirmed that we've visited this spot on Devonshire/Grattan Square in Dungarvan previously. Not just once in fact, but twice before - once on a much busier day with French/Lawrence, and once with our left-eye closed to the STP. As [https://www.flickr.com/photos/beachcomberaustralia] points-out however, with both eyes open, and the Megazoom version now available, additional detail might come to light. With [https://www.flickr.com/photos/gnmcauley] for example spotting mention of Thomas McCarthy on one of the posters - and identifying some likely candidates... Photographers: Frederick Holland Mares, James Simonton Contributor: John Fortune Lawrence Collection: Stereo Pairs Photograph Collection Date: between ca. 1860-1883 NLI Ref: STP_2313 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 8719
Tags: thestereopairsphotographcollection lawrencecollection stereographicnegatives jamessimonton frederickhollandmares johnfortunelawrence williammervynlawrence nationallibraryofireland smalltown market



A whole lot of bull!
Description: In line with the many terrible puns scattered about like cow manure yesterday, we have the real thing today - a bull! While he is clearly a handsome beast with a fine set of horns, at the end of the day, he is just another married man with a ring controlling him. Whether the Mr Glennine (or Glennie) who commissioned this Poole shot is the man in the bowler or not, as sharon.corbet suggests, it seems he was "land steward" at the Curraghmore Estate in the 1900s/1910s. Niall McAuley tells us that Curraghmore house and estate (which we have visited before and to which we've mapped this image) is still in the De Poer family. [https:[email protected]] provides some more information on the house and family in the comments below.... Photographer: A. H. Poole Collection: Poole Photographic Studio, Waterford Date: c.1901-1954 (likely early decades of this range) NLI Ref: POOLEWP 0911a You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 9152
Tags: ahpoole arthurhenripoole poolecollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland bull nosering man handler waterford



Health Offices, Dublin City, Co. Dublin
Description: While this beautifully ornate building is familiar to me I would never have known it as the "Health Offices"! Finding it on Streetview shouldn't take too long in any event! And indeed B-59 had linked the Streetview in a flash - with details on the building itself quick to follow. As per the various notes in the comments, this building (formerly the Newcomen Bank) would be known to most Dubliners as the city Rates Office (rather than the Health Office it clearly was at the time of this image). The original bank building was to the left, with an entrance on Castle Street. First opened in the 1780s, it was significantly extended in 1856 and 1884 - with an entire new double frontage added as we see here on Cork Hill. While this certainly dates from after the 1880s remodeling, we are still hopeful of refining the date further (possibly if we can find out when building's use changed from municipal health office, and to the rates office it is known as today....) Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1865-1914. Though certainly after 1886, and possibly before c.1899. NLI Ref: L_CAB_04747 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 6833
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland healthoffices dublin ireland



Holy Well, Slieve League, Co. Donegal
Description: From the commerce of Portadown to the faith and the cure in Slieve League, Co. Donegal! This fine shot of a group at a Holy Well seems to show two locals offering a passing tourist a drink of water from the well. The dress of the tourist and the items laid down beside him would indicate that he may have been hiking. And the solid and hob nailed boots of the man at the front of the well might show that he is a guide rather than a keeper of the well(?) Thanks to today's contributors we're able to map this to the paths of Slieve League - if not perhaps the exact spot. Inputs from beachcomberaustralia offer some thoughts on the scene (and that the touristy looking chap may be a cyclist rather than a dedicated hiker). Beachcomber shares an extract from an 1897 tourist visit to the area. And points out that other sights mentioned in that extract are also covered in the catalogue - suggesting that perhaps the areas wasn't quite as remote and untouristed as we might first have imagined:   The whole forenoon should be devoted to exploring the cliff scenery of Slieve League. A cycle can only be utilised for a few miles from the hotel, but a pony can be hired for 5s, which sum is the charge for a guide also [...] The "One Man's Path," near the summit of Slieve League, is a trip for the strong nerved [...] The saint's cross, his bed, and his well can be seen; and many quaint legends gathered [...] - Clarence and Richmond Examiner, NSW, September 1897 Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date:between ca. 1865-1914 NLI Ref: L_ROY_01466 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 10317
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland holywell slieveleague codonegal



High Street, Portadown
Description: Up to the "wee North" today with a fine Lawrence shot of High Street in Portadown. A fine broad street, big well-built premises, gas lamps, and horse apples in abundance - all might mean this was late 1800s...? ....Or perhaps not the late 1800s after-all. Thanks to today's contributions (and the high-res megazoom version) the community's eagle-eyes spotted an apparently dated shop-window display suggesting a date of 1906. Niall McAuley's census and street-directory investigations would seem to corroberate this - as Hoy's boot-sellers (far left) seem to have left Portadown sometime between 1901 and 1910. Perhaps the "cheap boots sale" we see advertised was actually a closing/relocation sale? Courtney (the "Italian Warehouseman"?) seems to have been around for a few years after this image. And is it no wonder he did a busy trade, given that (as advertised) he always had "pickles in stock"! :) Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1865-1914. Possibly c.1906 NLI Ref: L_ROY_09282 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 8861
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland highstreet portadown coarmagh



Emigrants leaving. Scotts Quay, Queenstown
Description: The "American Wake" is just a memory as the emigrants take to the tenders so that they may be transported to the liner that will carry them to the brave new world of opportunity. What mixture of excitement, sadness, anticipation and hope must have filled this scene as it was photographer by Robert French? We, today, can only imagine the sense of finality and loss that scenes such as this represented back when this was taken! There's lots of information offered on the pier and tenders captured here - and more than a little refinement on the 20-year range suggested by the catalogue entry. On the pier, today's contributors point-out that it is still standing (just about) and was the departure point for White Star Line passengers. We see three passenger/luggage/mail tenders at the wharf. Though at least one is flying the flag of the the White Star Line, these steam tenders belonged to the port. The tenders are confirmed as "Ireland" (launched 1891), "Flying Fish" (launched 1886), and one other. This helps narrow the range to the 1890s (or possibly first few years of the 1900s). The "Ireland" seemingly tendered passengers of the Titanic, and the "Flying Fish" was involved in rescuing survivors of the Luisitania disaster - making the colloquial name of the wharf, "Heartbreak Pier", all the more poignant.... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1880-1900. Though after 1891. And possibly close-to or after 1900. NLI Ref: L_CAB_05258 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 10171
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland tenders queenstown cobh



Town or village with church tower visible in the distance... is Enniskerry, Co Wicklow
Description: A rare visit to the Clonbrock collection with a beautiful sylvan scene of a town or village and in the background a spire and a pointy (Technical term) mountain. The fencing along the paddock makes me wonder if this is in Ireland... And (despite our thoughts on the somewhat "un-Irish" looking fencing), it was established fairly quickly by derangedlemur, sharon.corbet and B-59 that this Ireland. And the hills of County Wicklow specifically. The clock tower in the square of Enniskerry village has been highlighted by Dún Laoghaire Micheál, and the church spire of St Patrick's church also stands out. As the village has not changed much, and largely owes it's layout to developments in the first-half of the 19th century, we haven't been able to refine the date range significantly. (At least, not yet......) Photographers: Dillon Family Contributors: Luke Gerald Dillon, Augusta Caroline Dillon Collection: Clonbrock photographic Collection Date: 1860-1930 NLI Ref: CLON1886 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 9182
Tags: theclonbrockphotographiccollection lukegeralddillon baronclonbrock augustacarolinedillon baronessclonbrock dillonfamily nationallibraryofireland village town spire



Elementary School – Yavneh – Kovno-Slobodka
Description: Founded in Vilna in 1902, Mizrahi was an Orthodox Zionist movement whose slogan was “The Land of Israel for the People of Israel according to the Torah of Israel” – contrary to many Zionist movements’ secular focus, Mizrahi rooted its ideology in religious interpretation. In its early years Mizrahi experienced significant growth with more than two hundred branches of the organization springing up across regions of Eastern Europe – representing some 11,000 members. The size and influence of Mizrahi ebbed and flowed throughout the early 1900s as the organization struggled with political repression and as it competed with other Zionist organizations for influence. While the youth movement affiliated with the organization – Tse’ire Mizrahi – was active in promoting immigration to Palestine, the larger organization’s activities were focused around Judaic and Hebrew education as well as holding prayer services. Mizrahi was active in setting up educational institutions across many regions in Eastern Europe, these schools were known as the “Yavneh” school network. Home to a vibrant – as well as religiously and politically diverse – Jewish community, Kovno had a variety of different schools run by a range of different organizations; and as this book stamp makes clear this included an elementary school from the Yavneh network located in Slobodka, a community on the Eastern side of the Neris River. Slobodka was the main site of the Kovno ghetto. This book stamp is from a book looted by the Nazis and sorted by Colonel Seymour Pomrenze, one of “the Monuments Men,” at the Offenbach Archival Depot. There are two scrapbooks of archival markings from the books sorted at the Offenbach Depot in the Seymour Pomrenze Collection held by the American Jewish Historical Society (Call number P-933) There is a finding aid for the collection here The digitized scrapbooks are available here and here. For more information on this project check the Center’s blog: 16thstreet.tumblr.com/tagged/Offenbach-Depot Dr. Mitch Fraas, Acting Director of the Digital Humanities Forum at the University of Pennsylvania Libraries' Special Collections Center is working on a similar project for the German book stamps based on NARA microfilm of the volumes the American Jewish Historical Society currently holds. See viewshare.org/views/mfraas/offenbach-bookplates/ The Center for Jewish History would like to acknowledge the following: The American Jewish Historical Society, who graciously allowed the use of their archival materials and digital content; Mitch Fraas, Acting Director of the Digital Humanities Forum at the University of Pennsylvania Libraries' Special Collections Center, for his data and technical assistance in this project; David Rosenberg, Reference Services Research Coordinator, and Melanie Meyers, Senior Reference Services Librarian for Special Collections, for managing and creating the digital map; and Reference Services Librarian Ilya Slavutskiy for his work on translating and mapping. For copyright information, click here
Owner: Center for Jewish History, NYC
Views: 975
Tags: hardwareepsonexpression100 softwareepsonscanv220aan



Waiting for the coming?
Description: While the image is entitled "Examination Hall, Mount Melleray", what is really interesting is the stance of the monks and other men along the avenue. They seem to be waiting on an arrival - but of what or whom?? Based on input from RorySherlock and Niall McAuley, we are happy to map this to the location of the (now demolished) exam hall of the Mount Melleray abbey and seminary. Niall McAuley and sharon.corbet also help us refine the date range - narrowing the 5 decade catalogue range to perhaps 2 decades or so around the 1870s/80s. On the subject, we're still unsure as to what's happening. However, as today's commentators point-out, there is more than a few similar examples in the collection. Perhaps indicating that this seemingly odd arrangement of subjects wasn't a "one off". And maybe therefore what's captured here is a routine monastic observance of some kind..... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1865-1914. Though likely in the first half of this range (perhaps 1870s/1880s). See comments. NLI Ref: L_CAB_01439 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 9297
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland mountmelleray cowaterford ireland



Town Hall, Kingstown
Description: An unusual shot from Robert French in that the POV of the subject matter is so limited and obstructed by other buildings. How much has changed in the intervening period and when was this likely to have been taken? Though the titular subject of the image is the town hall in Kingstown, now Dún Laoghaire. much of today's discussion was on the Pavilion Gardens Kingstown in the foreground. This waterfront attraction (with its concert hall, roof top garden, smoking/reading/tea rooms, flower beds, waterfall, bandstand, and bowling green) was opened in 1903. Which pushes the upper date in our catalogue range back a little. It seems likely, based on today's discussion, that this image was captured a few years after the official opening - perhaps c.1905.... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1880-1900. Though possibly c.1905 NLI Ref: L_ROY_01700 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 9027
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland townhall kingstowndunlaoghaire paviliontheatre



Gap of Dunloe, Mrs. Moriarty's, Killarney, Co. Kerry
Description: This fine shot of a cottage in the Gap of Dunloe for a frosty Tuesday morning. Riding up the Gap from here on a day like today would take away any cobwebs away and concentrate the mind. Robert French really could capture the atmosphere of a place and a time! As [https://www.flickr.com/photos/beachcomberaustralia] and [https:[email protected]] suggest, this particular Moriarty cottage seems to have been around here. The guys point to the strong similarity in the rock-formations to the rear - and we have no reason to doubt it. It seems there were perhaps several Moriarty households in the area - and indeed we've met more than one Moriarty on our previous visits to the area. This Mrs Moriarty clearly served a burgeoning tourst trade - in a tradition which seemingly continues today... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: between ca. 1865-1914 NLI Ref: L_ROY_06972 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 17379
Tags: lawrenceroyals robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland gapofdunloe killarney



ca_20161121_000
Description: Copil între statui, Parcul Ialomița, Slobozia. 24 iunie 1972 Fotograf C. Acsinte Slobozia Din arhiva personală Carmen Botoșaru
Owner: Costică Acsinte Archive
Views: 3551
Tags: costicăacsintearchive 20161121 costicăacsinte oamenișipozelelor carmenbotoșaru paperprint ialomita românia rou



Dáil Chamber silent and empty
Description: Until the advent of television, sights such as this were relatively rare, the inside of the national parliament was considered almost sacrosanct. Now the activity there is streamed live, relevant clips appear daily on the news channels and people are familiar with the appearance and décor. As [https://www.flickr.com/photos/gnmcauley] notes, the main parliament chamber at Leinster House was originally a lecture theatre leased from the Royal Dublin Society. It was bought outright for Dáil use, and redesigned in the mid-1920s (likely putting this image after that date)... Photographer: Unknown Collection: Eason Photographic Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1900-1939. Likely after mid-1920s NLI Ref: EAS_1755 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 9185
Tags: eason easonson easoncollection easonphotographiccollection glassnegative 20thcentury nationallibraryofireland dáiléireann dáilchamber leinsterhouse



Swiss Cottage?
Description: A funny looking house all cobbled together making what somebody thought was a Swiss Cottage? This fine, carefully posed photograph from Mr. Poole has a family showing off their finery and their toys! Their dress would indicate that the shot was taken earlier in the date range rather than later? Where is/was it and who were the lucky family? As usual, the answers weren't long coming. The "where" was confirmed as Swiss Cottage, Newtown Road, Waterford, and the "who" as the Fanning family. The "when" is less certain, but - despite the catalogue range - possibly a few years earlier than the 1901 census.... Photographer: A. H. Poole Collection: Poole Photographic Studio, Waterford Date: Catalogue range c.1901-1954. But likely around or before 1901. NLI Ref: POOLEWP 0118 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 9562
Tags: ahpoole arthurhenripoole poolecollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland swisscottage family posed edwardianvictoriandress sailingboat



Mick McQuaid's Cabin, Connemara, Co. Galway
Description: Two poems immediately spring to mind when I look at this image but neither of them refers to Connemara. This beautiful scene may have cheered "Mick McQuaid" on a daily basis or perhaps due to the harshness of life in such a remote and poor area he did not even see it? I hope that he was able to sit with his pipe, smoking "Mick McQuaid" tobacco, contemplating the scene with a sense of peace and appreciation? And so we have learned from beachcomberaustralia and B-59 that the "Mick McQuaid" in question was fictional. Making this scene, as Niall McAuley suggests, something of a 19th century equivalent to the (nearby) "Quiet Man cottage". Mick McQuaid was a character developed by Captain William Lynam for a popular weekly serial - that was carried by newspapers for some decades from the 1860s. Seemingly, as per the summary which beachcomberaustralia shares in the comments, those who could not read would travel some distance to hear the latest installment. And such was the popularity of the character that, as well as inspiring tobacco branding, when Lynam died in 1894, the paper continued the serial - reaching new generations.... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1865-1914. Though possibly after 1895. NLI Ref: L_ROY_06806 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 9364
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland lake isle trees



Close-up of doorway of large, cruciform, modern romanesque church (is Sligo Cathedral)
Description: A double image of a double door in a church somewhere in Ireland. Given the extreme age of the stereo pairs collection some of the images, such as this one, are remarkably clear and 'new' looking! Early collaboration from [https:[email protected]] and [https://www.flickr.com/photos/beachcomberaustralia] identified this as Sligo Cathedral. As the cathedral opened in 1874, it seems likely this image dates to the mid- or late-1870s at the earliest. As well as helping identify the subjects of the "high relief" work in the tympanum today's other eagle-eyed contributors point out that this image is actually mirrored from reality.... Photographers: Frederick Holland Mares, James Simonton Contributor: John Fortune Lawrence Collection: Stereo Pairs Photograph Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1860-1883. Though definitely after 1874. NLI Ref: STP_2407 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 9254
Tags: thestereopairsphotographcollection lawrencecollection stereographicnegatives jamessimonton frederickhollandmares johnfortunelawrence williammervynlawrence nationallibraryofireland romanesquedoubledoor church



ca_20161108_021-VDB
Description: Colecția Costică Acsinte
Owner: Costică Acsinte Archive
Views: 2172
Tags: costicăacsintearchive costicăacsinte 20161108 vandykebrown altprint altprinting



Viața socială
Description: Full content of the book Foto splendid vol. 1, Viața socială
Owner: Costică Acsinte Archive
Views: 1993
Tags: costicăacsintearchive fotosplendid atelierelealbe



Mansion near Navan, Co Meath - is Boyne View House
Description: A mansion (that was perhaps converted into a convent?) near Navan in the lush plains of County Meath. It looks like a white house - on the day when the new occupant of "The White House" may be decided. Good luck to our friends in the USA and may you get a President who will be a source of unity and goodwill! In a near dictionary definition of "great minds think alike", guliolopez and sharon.corbet simultaneously identified (and Niall McAuley coorberated) that what we are looking at here is Boyne View House off Convent Road to the south of Navan. Built apparently around the 1820s, our interpid investigators have confirmed that the portico we see here was remodeled in recent decades - and the distinctive upper sunroom/orangery removed. We are delighted to hear however that the building itself still stands and seemingly retains much of its original form. The team further confirm that the Watkins family were in residence here for at least the first 2 or 3 decades of the 20th century, and may have been the householders when this Eason image was captured.... Photographer: Unknown Collection: Eason Photographic Collection Date: c.1900-1939 NLI Ref: EAS_3233 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 8790
Tags: eason easonson easoncollection easonphotographiccollection glassnegative 20thcentury nationallibraryofireland mansion navan ireland



Spa Baths, Lisdoonvarna, Co. Clare
Description: Happy smelly Monday as todays shot takes us to the beauty of West Clare, and the town of Lisdoonvarna - with its occasional reek of sulphur from the waters. This beautiful shot from the lens of Mr. French shows the bath houses in pristine condition, with many people there relaxing and enjoying themselves. (And congratulations to the Ireland team for their first ever victory against the mighty New Zealand All Blacks. Magnificent!) Lots of brilliant insights on this image in the comments. Including a reminder that we've followed the Victorian fashion and "taken the waters" at Lisdoonvarna's other wells before today. This Lawrence Collection image captures just how popular a tourist activity it was - with dozens of seemingly middle-class visitors at their leisure. Presumably rented towels are drying outside the bath house, and musical entertainment is evident outside the pump house - confirming that the crowds came to Lisdoonvarna long before the music and matchmaking festivals.... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1865-1914. Though likely after c.1890 based on the date of the main pump-house building. NLI Ref: L_ROY_08778 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 9762
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland spabaths lisdoonvarna westclare



Wagging tail and wagging tongues at the post office (Portrush, Co Antrim)
Description: This lovely shot by Robert French shows the Post Office in Portrush with a seemingly posed group - complete with a DOG! Anybody who can come up with the name of the dog will be guaranteed an Irish virtual sticky bun - not as exotic as the Australian version but very tasty nonetheless. With thanks to the usually insightful contributions, it seems that we can narrow the 50-year catalogue range to perhaps a decade or two in the late 19th century (certainly the fashions point more to 1870s/1880s than the early 20th century). Niall McAuley and O Mac have also helped us map this image to the site of the "old" post office on Main Street Portrush. (The "new(er)" post office was built c.1908 and is now a library...) Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: c.1865-1914 (though likely c.1870s/1880s) NLI Ref: L_CAB_03710 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 9694
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland postoffice portrush dog



Description: This is labelled as the "Durrow Viaduct, Stradbally, Co.Laois", and a very fine shot it is. One wonders if it is now disused or perhaps abandoned for some years? It may surprise that this is from the Eason Collection! With thanks to today's contributors (including B-59 and Rory_Sherlock) there is a consensus suggestion that our catalogue label is incorrect, and that perhaps this is actually Ballyvoyle Viaduct in County Waterford. The smaller arch (and cottage) on the lefthand-side does seem a good fit with this Waterford Museum image from c.1900. If it is the Ballyvoyle Viaduct, we (now) know that it was blown-up during the Civil War in August 1922, and replaced with a new structure in 1923. According to this synopsis from the Waterford & Suir Valley Railway website the line didn't reopen fully until 1924.... Photographer: Unknown Collection: Eason Photographic Collection Date: between ca. 1900-1939 (likely before 1922) NLI Ref: EAS_2756 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 9370
Tags: eason easonson easoncollection easonphotographiccollection glassnegative 20thcentury nationallibraryofireland ireland ballyvoyle viaduct



Church (Ruins), Waterville, Co. Kerry
Description: Labelled as "St. Fininan's Church (Ruins), Waterville, Co. Kerry", we have an interesting photo from the Eason Collection to start off the week. We are in the Kingdom, and as a Dub I am happy to visit Kerry at any time, but I am always happier to visit when "Sam Maguire" is residing in the Capital. (The Dub Mary!) Based on input from Mosskayree, and corroberation from B-59, we have added this photo to our "Possible Cagalogue Correction" tag. It seems that this is actually very likely Derrynane Abbey, on the appropriately named Abbey Island, near the town of Caherdaniel in County Kerry. Mossy and beachcomberaustralia offer some additional detail on the history and folklore surrounding the abbey in the comments - including its connection to the O'Connell family of Derrynane..... Photographer: Unknown Collection: Eason Photographic Collection Date: between ca. 1900-1939 NLI Ref: EAS_2386 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 10852
Tags: eason easonson easoncollection easonphotographiccollection glassnegative 20thcentury nationallibraryofireland ireland kerry munster



Description: We are off to the leafy suburbs of South Dublin today courtesy of the Eason collection. I am fully expecting that we can identify the location, the names of the 3 men, the make and model of the fancy motor car and finally the date on which this photo was taken! With usual aplomb (we're barely surprised any more), today's contributors established that this is almost certainly Grange Golf Club in Rathfarnham, most likely captured in the mid-1930s (probably after the new club house opened in 1935), and the car pictured possibly a mid-1930s Morris Motors automobile.... Photographer: Unknown Collection: Eason Photographic Collection Date: Between ca. 1900-1939 (possibly mid-1930s) NLI Ref: EAS_1906 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 7897
Tags: eason easonson easoncollection easonphotographiccollection glassnegative 20thcentury nationallibraryofireland rathfarnham dublin leinster



Grotesque and Ghastly Gothic or Soaring Spiky Spires?
Description: This stereo pairs image of a church with lots and lots of spiked abutments and spires on a Y shaped avenue was selected to finish the week. For me its appearance is both unwelcoming and forbidding - having a dark and austere aspect. The location and subject was very quickly identified by sharon.corbet as Down Cathedral. The cathedral is formally known as the "Cathedral Church of the Holy and Undivided Trinity". As [https://www.flickr.com/photos/gnmcauley] explains, and per the Wikipedia article, at least some of the structure dates to the 13th and 14th centuries, with the "gothic revival" flourishes added in the late 18th and early 19th centuries.... Photographers: Frederick Holland Mares, James Simonton Contributor: John Fortune Lawrence Collection: Stereo Pairs Photograph Collection Date: between ca. 1860-1883 NLI Ref: STP_1940 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 8462
Tags: thestereopairsphotographcollection lawrencecollection stereographicnegatives jamessimonton frederickhollandmares johnfortunelawrence williammervynlawrence nationallibraryofireland church yjunction



A distinguished gentleman in robes and chain of office sitting on a throne (of sorts)
Description: This fine Poole portrait portraying probably the Lord Mayor of a city to end this week. The robes and chain are very ornate and he is seated on a very finely carved chair - but who is he and what was the office he held? Today's contributors, including [https:[email protected]], [https://www.flickr.com/photos/gnmcauley] and [https:[email protected]] spotted the coat or arms, motto and regalia as those of Waterford - so clearly this is a Waterford mayor. Given that the catalogue date of the image was 1927, it was originally thought that maybe this was John J. Wyley - who was mayor that year. However, various clues didn't support that suggestion (not least the age of the man, the name of the person who comissioned the photo, and a "copy" label in the catalogue entry). There is therefore much stronger evidence that the mayor pictured is Henry Grainger, who was mayor in 1898. It seems likely a family member (probably a daughter) commissioned a copy from the Poole studio during the 1920s.... Photographer: A. H. Poole Collection: Poole Photographic Studio, Waterford Date: c.3 September 1927 (likely date earlier photo was copied. Original may date to c.1898) NLI Ref: POOLEWP 3458 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 7621
Tags: ahpoole arthurhenripoole poolecollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland gentleman chainofoffice robes fur chair



An
Description: The description on this image states that this is an "Outside Car" and goes on at length to describe the gates and pillars! But are they still there? Where are/were they? They certainly are very ornate and ostentatious. With thanks especially today to derangedlemur, we know that these imposing gates and gatelodge are at the start of the driveway to Muckross House in Killarney, County Kerry. The ironwork (attributed to Richard Perrott of Cork) and pillars and gatelodge (seemingly attributed to William Atkins also of Cork) date to 1860. They were probably built before the arrival of Queen Victoria at Muckross in 1861. And, as [https:[email protected]] suggests in his own enigmatic way, likely intended to impress her madge. The community points-out that you can get an "Outside car" from the same spot today - just outside the gates. Photographers: Frederick Holland Mares, James Simonton Contributor: John Fortune Lawrence Collection: Stereo Pairs Photograph Collection Date: Between 1860 - 1883 NLI Ref: STP_0637 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 8581
Tags: thestereopairsphotographcollection lawrencecollection stereographicnegatives jamessimonton frederickhollandmares johnfortunelawrence williammervynlawrence nationallibraryofireland ornategatesandpillars wroughtiron



Cockhill, County Donegal
Description: Yet another beautiful Lawrence photograph of rural Ireland at its best! Cockhill near Buncrana in County Donegal looks like a good place to take a few shots - but there may not be a lot happening around there. The river appears to be tidal at that point, yet the watermill on the left is right down on the foreshore(?) Today's contributors point-out that, at ~2km from the sea, the river likely wasn't tidal at this point, so the seemingly low water level may have just been time of year or a recent dry spell :) It's also pointed-out that the millrace feeding the waterwheel is split from the main flow of the River Crana just a few hundred metres up river (off camera to the left). While we don't know what quite the wheel and mill building were "for", the building that now occupies the site is home to the "Old Mill Hair Salon" :) Also discussed today was the prominent church. St Mary's RC church was built in the 1840s, and replaced an earlier structure which was just to the right of shot (in the churchyard behind the white school building)... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: between c.1880-1900 NLI Ref: L_ROY_01268 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 9009
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland cockhill ireland church



Village of Leenane, County Galway
Description: This picture of an idyllic scene, a tiny village from across a body of water with hills in the background, gives a romantic view of Ireland at the turn of the 20th century. It puts a gloss over the hardship and poverty of rural Ireland at that time. With that cheerful note, we can look forward to the end of September and the start of October at the weekend! With subject and location already established here, some of today's investigations focused on dates. The general consensus is that (based on the family businesses pictured) the image may have been taken close to the 1901 or 1911 censuses. Perhaps even c.1906/1907 when we know the French/Lawrence were in the area seemingly overlapping with a visiting tourist bus. Whether or not we can refine it to the turn of the century, it seems likely to have been taken in the later decades of the 50-year catalogue range... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: c.1865-1914 (though possibly c.1900 per notes) NLI Ref: L_CAB_00346 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 16077
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland leenane connemara village



All eyes on the charabanc!
Description: For Friday we have a stereo-pairs image of a seafront with houses above a shingle beach, boats pulled up to the hard stand and a most peculiar charabanc with a large group of people on board! While there are people standing around none pay attention to the photographer as all eyes are on the horse drawn transport! What is surrounded by iron railings so close to the sea? This image was quickly identified as the waterfront (Havelock Place) in Warrenpoint, County Down. While there was no immediate confirmation on what the gated area may have been on the pier-front, we thought it could have simply been fencing around a building which is just out of shot.... .... And indeed [https:[email protected]] confirmed since that it was the frontage of "Harbour House" which seems to have stood until at least the first decades of the 20th century. Photographers: Frederick Holland Mares, James Simonton Contributor: John Fortune Lawrence Collection: Stereo Pairs Collection Date: between ca. 1860-1883 NLI Ref: STP_2140 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 8514
Tags: thestereopairsphotographcollection lawrencecollection stereographicnegatives jamessimonton frederickhollandmares johnfortunelawrence williammervynlawrence nationallibraryofireland terrace houses



Irish Jaunting car
Description: The once ubiquitous Irish Jaunting car, or as it was also called, the "side car". Up to the 1950s they were the taxi of choice in most places. Often with little comfort, as one hung-on precariously sideways to the direction of travel. It was a great way of seeing what was on your side of the car but not what was on the opposite side. This fine Lawrence shot shows the Phoenix Monument (which was moved some decades after this shot but is now back where it belongs).... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date:between c.1865-1914 (though likely before 1903 given lamps visible) NLI Ref: L_CAB_07638 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 9522
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland irishjauntingcar sidecar sidewayson



Hopefully everything is
Description: Here two small ships lie on the mud where the tide has gone out and to prevent the cargo and fittings from moving and tipping the vessel over it was necessary to have them "Ship Shape and Bristol Fashion"! The tide at Bristol rises and falls up to 14 metres and so a vessel that did not have its fittings and cargo tied down was in danger of tipping over and being swamped by the incoming tide! This is a long way from Bristol but where? Based on sterling investigations by derangedlemur (and independent corroboration by sharon.corbet and KiloSierraDelta) it is confirmed that this is Quoile Quay close to Downpatrick in Northern Ireland. This part of the Quoile River was clearly navigable and the storehouses on the quay indicate a reasonable amount of traffic and trade. While some other aspects of this scene have changed, the frontage of the storehouses seem to remain - incorporated into a modern residential development... Photographers: Frederick Holland Mares, James Simonton Contributor: John Fortune Lawrence Collection: Stereo Pairs Photograph Collection Date: Between 1860 and 1883 NLI Ref: STP_2224 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 8901
Tags: thestereopairsphotographcollection lawrencecollection stereographicnegatives jamessimonton frederickhollandmares johnfortunelawrence williammervynlawrence nationallibraryofireland ships mud



Mountain Stage, Glenbeigh, Co. Kerry
Description: One of those amazing Lawrence images of poverty, destitution and sheer misery that makes one cringe. Cringe for the people who had to live in such terrible conditions. Some of the worst we had seen were in Donegal but this is in the Kingdom of Kerry, and shows that hard times affected people all over the country. With input from today's contributors we have broadly mapped this image to near Drom in County Kerry. The consensus is that this French image was likely captured in the 1880s. Possibly even c.1887 when, as beachcomber points-out, there were some particularly notorious evictions of families from the Wynn Estate.... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1860 - 1914. Though certainly before 1900. And likely c.1880s. NLI Ref: L_CAB_08441 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 19530
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland cabin stone sods



A Belfast scene!
Description: The full title/description for this shot was too long and confusing for use on a Monday morning so I summarised it slightly :) A Belfast scene with lots to view and plenty of life going on. It immediately brought to mind James Craigs poem about Belfast: "Red brick in the suburbs, white horse on the wall, Eyetalian marbles in the City Hall: O stranger from England, why stand so aghast? May the Lord in His mercy be kind to Belfast." While we had a notion of location, today's contributors have helped refine the 25 year date range to perhaps a decade or so between the mid-1870s and the upper catalogue range of the mid-1880s. One of the more interesting features here (described in the catalogue entry as "iron feature, possibly a fountain") is the Jaffe Memorial Fountain. Seemingly built by Belfast's only Jewish mayor, Otto Jaffe, the "memorial" in question was to Jaffe's own father - who funded Belfast’s first synagogue. [https://www.flickr.com/photos/vab2009] points out that, after 70 years in Belfast's botanic gardens, the fountain has since been moved back to this original location... Photographers: Frederick Holland Mares, James Simonton Contributor: John Fortune Lawrence Collection: Stereo Pairs Photograph Collection Date: ca. 1860-1883 (though likely later than mid-1870s per comments) NLI Ref: STP_2495 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 10233
Tags: thestereopairsphotographcollection lawrencecollection stereographicnegatives jamessimonton frederickhollandmares johnfortunelawrence williammervynlawrence nationallibraryofireland belfast streetscene



Paardenpolo
Description: Beelden uit de tentoonstelling Archief Sportief!, in het Liberaal Archief van 16 september 2016 t/m 13 januari 2017. Meer informatie: www.liberaalarchief.be Images from the exhibition Archief Sportief! in the Liberaal Archief in Ghent, September 16, 2016 through January 13, 2017
Owner: Liberaal Archief
Views: 972
Tags: paardensport paardenpolo outdoor sport oostende liberaalarchiefvzw gent archieven erfgoed heritage



Knocka Castle, Templemore, Co. Tipperary
Description: Back to County Tipperary once more - but to the North Riding this time. Knocka Castle in ruins near Templemore looks to have been once a great house with a Norman tower nearby for refuge (perhaps in case the Whiteboys or Moonlighters come calling). Templemore, which we now associate with law and order was a place of much violent action during the "Troubles" including the burning down of castles - but this ruins seems to date from well before that! Based on today's contributions, we learned a bit more about the two structures captured here by French. In the foreground, according to the 19th century OSI maps. is Knockagh House. And in the background is Knockagh Castle. We learned that (per sharon.corbet) the older Norman-era(?) tower house in the background still stands. But that the house in the foreground, which had seemingly been in ruin for at least a century prior, was (per Carol Maddock) fully demolished in the early- or mid-20th century. Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: between ca. 1865-1914 NLI Ref: L_CAB_08292 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 8385
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland knockacastle templemore northriding



Zwemmen, waterpolo en voetbal
Description: Beelden uit de tentoonstelling Archief Sportief!, in het Liberaal Archief van 16 september 2016 t/m 13 januari 2017. Meer informatie: www.liberaalarchief.be Images from the exhibition Archief Sportief! in the Liberaal Archief in Ghent, September 16, 2016 through January 13, 2017
Owner: Liberaal Archief
Views: 1112
Tags: gent ghent vlaanderen “liberaalarchiefvzw” tentoonstelling “archiefsportief” exhibition sport turnen “kramersplein23”



Auto race, Leopoldville, 1958
Description: Paul Frère in zijn Ferrari tijdens de race van 7 september 1958. (Foto H. Goldstein) Beelden uit de tentoonstelling Archief Sportief!, in het Liberaal Archief van 16 september 2016 t/m 13 januari 2017. Meer informatie: www.liberaalarchief.be Images from the exhibition Archief Sportief! in the Liberaal Archief in Ghent, September 16, 2016 through January 13, 2017
Owner: Liberaal Archief
Views: 1141
Tags: gent ghent vlaanderen “liberaalarchiefvzw” tentoonstelling “archiefsportief” exhibition sport turnen “kramersplein23”



Balpijp schieten, 1883
Description: Beelden uit de tentoonstelling Archief Sportief!, in het Liberaal Archief van 16 september 2016 t/m 13 januari 2017. Meer informatie: www.liberaalarchief.be Images from the exhibition Archief Sportief! in the Liberaal Archief in Ghent, September 16, 2016 through January 13, 2017
Owner: Liberaal Archief
Views: 953
Tags: gent ghent vlaanderen “liberaalarchiefvzw” tentoonstelling “archiefsportief” exhibition sport turnen “kramersplein23”



Biljarten
Description: Beelden uit de tentoonstelling Archief Sportief!, in het Liberaal Archief van 16 september 2016 t/m 13 januari 2017. Meer informatie: www.liberaalarchief.be Images from the exhibition Archief Sportief! in the Liberaal Archief in Ghent, September 16, 2016 through January 13, 2017
Owner: Liberaal Archief
Views: 917
Tags: gent ghent vlaanderen “liberaalarchiefvzw” tentoonstelling “archiefsportief” exhibition sport turnen “kramersplein23”



Wielerclub het Blauwe Wiel, Antwerpen | Cyclist club
Description: Beelden uit de tentoonstelling Archief Sportief!, in het Liberaal Archief van 16 september 2016 t/m 13 januari 2017. Meer informatie: www.liberaalarchief.be Images from the exhibition Archief Sportief! in the Liberaal Archief in Ghent, September 16, 2016 through January 13, 2017
Owner: Liberaal Archief
Views: 1103
Tags: gent ghent vlaanderen “liberaalarchiefvzw” tentoonstelling “archiefsportief” exhibition sport turnen “kramersplein23”



Paarden dressuur, 1893
Description: Beelden uit de tentoonstelling Archief Sportief!, in het Liberaal Archief van 16 september 2016 t/m 13 januari 2017. Meer informatie: www.liberaalarchief.be Images from the exhibition Archief Sportief! in the Liberaal Archief in Ghent, September 16, 2016 through January 13, 2017
Owner: Liberaal Archief
Views: 951
Tags: gent ghent vlaanderen “liberaalarchiefvzw” tentoonstelling “archiefsportief” exhibition sport turnen “kramersplein23”



Voetbal, 1936
Description: Beelden uit de tentoonstelling Archief Sportief!, in het Liberaal Archief van 16 september 2016 t/m 13 januari 2017. Meer informatie: www.liberaalarchief.be Images from the exhibition Archief Sportief! in the Liberaal Archief in Ghent, September 16, 2016 through January 13, 2017
Owner: Liberaal Archief
Views: 1002
Tags: gent ghent vlaanderen “liberaalarchiefvzw” tentoonstelling “archiefsportief” exhibition sport turnen “kramersplein23”



Paardenrace, 1902
Description: Beelden uit de tentoonstelling Archief Sportief!, in het Liberaal Archief van 16 september 2016 t/m 13 januari 2017. Meer informatie: www.liberaalarchief.be Images from the exhibition Archief Sportief! in the Liberaal Archief in Ghent, September 16, 2016 through January 13, 2017
Owner: Liberaal Archief
Views: 877
Tags: gent ghent vlaanderen “liberaalarchiefvzw” tentoonstelling “archiefsportief” exhibition sport turnen “kramersplein23”



Voetbal team Liberale Kring van Rabot en Brugsepoort, Gent, 1924
Description: Beelden uit de tentoonstelling Archief Sportief!, in het Liberaal Archief van 16 september 2016 t/m 13 januari 2017. Meer informatie: www.liberaalarchief.be Images from the exhibition Archief Sportief! in the Liberaal Archief in Ghent, September 16, 2016 through January 13, 2017
Owner: Liberaal Archief
Views: 1012
Tags: gent ghent vlaanderen “liberaalarchiefvzw” tentoonstelling “archiefsportief” exhibition sport turnen “kramersplein23”



Motocross
Description: Beelden uit de tentoonstelling Archief Sportief!, in het Liberaal Archief van 16 september 2016 t/m 13 januari 2017. Meer informatie: www.liberaalarchief.be Images from the exhibition Archief Sportief! in the Liberaal Archief in Ghent, September 16, 2016 through January 13, 2017
Owner: Liberaal Archief
Views: 1047
Tags: gent ghent vlaanderen “liberaalarchiefvzw” tentoonstelling “archiefsportief” exhibition sport turnen “kramersplein23”



Turnen, 1951
Description: Beelden uit de tentoonstelling Archief Sportief!, in het Liberaal Archief van 16 september 2016 t/m 13 januari 2017. Meer informatie: www.liberaalarchief.be Images from the exhibition Archief Sportief! in the Liberaal Archief in Ghent, September 16, 2016 through January 13, 2017
Owner: Liberaal Archief
Views: 1289
Tags: gent ghent vlaanderen “liberaalarchiefvzw” tentoonstelling “archiefsportief” exhibition sport turnen “kramersplein23”



Maleva embleem, Pürksi 1986 / Secondary School Students' Building Brigade emblem, Pürksi 1986
Description: Viitekood / Reference code: ERAF.9590.1.1079
Owner: National Archives of Estonia
Views: 741
Tags: emblem ants 1986 pürksi noarootsi läänemaa malev eõm buildingbrigades nationalarchivesofestonia



On the bridge below the mountain!
Description: While this scene is idyllic, the water looks perfect for fishing and that mountain in the background looks ideal for walking, it is the timing that makes this for me. Either Mr. French timed it perfectly to catch the mail coach just as it crossed the bridge or he persuaded the driver to stop long enough for him to get into position. Either way this is an instant favourite for me! Kudos today for the speed with which [https:[email protected]] identified and helped us map this to Brickeen Bridge in the Muckross Demesne in County Kerry.... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: between c.1865-1914 NLI Ref: L_ROY_02721 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 7559
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland bridge lake mountain



Athboy, Co. Meath
Description: We begin the week with a scene from the town of Athboy in the north of Royal Meath. Here it is dominated by its COI church tower, with the other end of the town marked by a castle built by Hugh deLacy. A market is in full swing - waking the town from its slumbers! Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: between ca. 1865-1914 (though likely after c.1890) NLI Ref: L_CAB_08693 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 9489
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland athboy ireland marketday



Clonyn Castle, Delvin, Co. Westmeath
Description: Charming Clonyn Castle brings our week to a close. As the location for the 'famous' novel "The Valley of the Squinting Windows' there are lots of windows to squint through in this fine pile. Is it still there and if so in what condition? Thanks to our typically helpful contributors, we know that Clonyn Castle is indeed standing, and in fact remains a private home. We also learned of it's temporary use, after WWII, as a home for recuperating children who had survived the holocaust... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: between ca. 1865-1914 NLI Ref: L_CAB_03198 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 8254
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland clonyncastle delvin ireland



Union of Food Workers Lozovsky Club
Description: The Lozovsky referred to in this stamp is most likely Solomon Lozovsky, a prominent Bolshevik and, during the times he was expelled from the Bolshevik Party (in 1914 and 1918), a Mezhraionets (a Russian Social Democratic Party faction straddling the ideological territory between the Bolsheviks and Mensheviks). He was a long-time revolutionary and a high official in various capacities in the Soviet Union. His Soviet political credentials were serious – at various times Presidium member of the All-Union Central Council of Soviet Trade Unions, Supreme Soviet member, Deputy People's Commissar for foreign affairs (answering to Molotov), and head of the Soviet Information Bureau (Sovinformburo). He was also the chair of the department of International Relations at the Higher Party School and General Secretary of the Red International Labour Union (Profintern). A Union club being named in Solomon Lozovsky’s honor is in line with his extensive involvement with labor unions throughout much of his career. This stamp is a testament to the existence of libraries in Union social institutions in the Soviet Union. He was born in Ukraine to Jewish parents and was a member of the Jewish Anti-Fascist Committee. He was murdered together with thirteen other members of the Jewish Anti-Fascist Committee in 1952 during Stalin’s anti-Semitic campaigns of the late 1940s and early 1950s. This event came to be known as the Night of the Murdered Poets, as five of the thirteen victims were Yiddish writers. This book stamp is from a book looted by the Nazis and sorted by Colonel Seymour Pomrenze, one of “the Monuments Men,” at the Offenbach Archival Depot. There are two scrapbooks of archival markings from the books sorted at the Offenbach Depot in the Seymour Pomrenze Collection held by the American Jewish Historical Society (Call number P-933) There is a finding aid for the collection here The digitized scrapbooks are available here and here. For more information on this project check the Center’s blog: 16thstreet.tumblr.com/tagged/Offenbach-Depot Dr. Mitch Fraas, Acting Director of the Digital Humanities Forum at the University of Pennsylvania Libraries' Special Collections Center is working on a similar project for the German book stamps based on NARA microfilm of the volumes the American Jewish Historical Society currently holds. See viewshare.org/views/mfraas/offenbach-bookplates/ The Center for Jewish History would like to acknowledge the following: The American Jewish Historical Society, who graciously allowed the use of their archival materials and digital content; Mitch Fraas, Acting Director of the Digital Humanities Forum at the University of Pennsylvania Libraries' Special Collections Center, for his data and technical assistance in this project; David Rosenberg, Senior Manager for Communications, and Melanie Meyers, Senior Reference Services Librarian for Special Collections, for managing and creating the digital map; as well as Reference Services Librarians Zachary Loeb and Ilya Slavutskiy for their work on translating and mapping. For copyright information, click here
Owner: Center for Jewish History, NYC
Views: 1041
Tags: hardwareepsonexpression100 softwareepsonscanv220aan



Pioneering Scouts Youth Organization Hashomer Hatzair in Lithuania
Description: Founded in 1913, as a merger between Tse’ire Agudat Tsiyon and Ha-Shomer, the organization Hashomer Hatzair was a Zionist-socialist youth movement that trained young people to immigrate to kibbutz in Palestine. The organization was founded in Galicia but expanded throughout Europe in the 1920s – by the late 1920s the organization had over ten thousand members, a number which had more than doubled by the start of WWII. The mixture of Zionism and socialism at the core of Hashomer Hatzair and its focus upon encouraging immigration set the organization apart from other youth organizations of the time that were either less expressly political or less focused (or hostile to) the cause of Zionism – while members of the organization who had already immigrated pushed the organization further and further to the left. With the onset of WWII many members of the organization attempted to get to Palestine, while others fled from the Nazis, even as others fell victim to their onslaught. Many members of Hashomer Hatzair became prominent leaders in the anti-Nazi resistant movements such as Haykah Grossman, Mordekhai Anielewicz, and Abba Kovner. This bookstamp belonged to a branch of Hashomer Hatzair active in Kovno – attesting to the fact that many of the branches of the organization had libraries. Hashomer Hatzair is still an active organization today. This book stamp is from a book looted by the Nazis and sorted by Colonel Seymour Pomrenze, one of “the Monuments Men,” at the Offenbach Archival Depot. There are two scrapbooks of archival markings from the books sorted at the Offenbach Depot in the Seymour Pomrenze Collection held by the American Jewish Historical Society (Call number P-933) There is a finding aid for the collection here The digitized scrapbooks are available here and here. For more information on this project check the Center’s blog: 16thstreet.tumblr.com/tagged/Offenbach-Depot Dr. Mitch Fraas, Acting Director of the Digital Humanities Forum at the University of Pennsylvania Libraries' Special Collections Center is working on a similar project for the German book stamps based on NARA microfilm of the volumes the American Jewish Historical Society currently holds. See viewshare.org/views/mfraas/offenbach-bookplates/ The Center for Jewish History would like to acknowledge the following: The American Jewish Historical Society, who graciously allowed the use of their archival materials and digital content; Mitch Fraas, Acting Director of the Digital Humanities Forum at the University of Pennsylvania Libraries' Special Collections Center, for his data and technical assistance in this project; David Rosenberg, Senior Manager for Communications, and Melanie Meyers, Senior Reference Services Librarian for Special Collections, for managing and creating the digital map; as well as Reference Services Librarians Zachary Loeb and Ilya Slavutskiy for their work on translating and mapping. For copyright information, click here
Owner: Center for Jewish History, NYC
Views: 1002
Tags: hardwareepsonexpression100 softwareepsonscanv220aan



Blackadder Hotel, Ballynahinch, Co. Galway
Description: Blackadder Hotel? Who would have thought that Blackadder would have gone forth from West Galway and from such a beautiful setting. This is up there with the most scenic Lawrence photographs we have seen. With thanks today to sharon.corbet, B-59, beachcomber, and guliolopez we have been able to map this image to the Angler's Return Hotel near Toombeola, County Galway. We also learned that Walter Blackadder (innkeeper and head of the Ballynahinch trout and salmon fishery) was well known in fishing and game circles in that part of the world for some years. The consensus is that this image is unlikely to be before 1895 (when Blackadder possibly took-over as both local innkeeper and gamekeeper).... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: c.1865-1914 (though possibly after 1895) NLI Ref: L_CAB_06995 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 23502
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland blackadderhotel galway boats



Trinity College, Brian Boro's Harp, Dublin City, Co. Dublin
Description: The Harp that once through Tara's halls... Well it may have been heard in Kincora? Here we see the Trinity College (or Brian Boru) harp as it was following (what the Wikipedia article describes as) a "bad restoration" of the 1830s. A bad restoration or not, it was in the form we see here that the harp became the model for the coat of arms of Ireland, the Guinness logo, the coins of Ireland, etc. It was subject to a more complete (and better received) restoration in the 1960s. As contributors to the discussion below point-out, while legend implies that the harp once belonged to the 11th century High King Brian Boru, more concrete evidence dates it to the 15th century. Following restoration in the 1960s, the harp was dramatically stolen from and returned to Trinity College, Dublin. The ancient harp continues to be displayed in the long room of the library at Trinity. Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: between ca. 1865-1914 NLI Ref: L_ROY_04794 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 38922
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland brianborusharp trinitycollege dublin



Navigation bridge (iron) on curved lock, dock on canal entrance, another bridge, towns old mill, hills, in background
Description: On a dull and dreary morning in Ireland a bright and sun filled stereo pairs image of a canal/dock. The young man leaning over the railing looking at the water is doing what young men have done across the ages - watching the world go by! Given the washed out detail we thought this might prove to be difficult to locate? However, our contributors were able to adjust the contrast slightly, bringing more of the detail easier to make out, and helping confirm the location as the bridge over the Tralee Ship Canal. We can also see Blennerville's distinctive windmill in the background. (The latter coincidentally appearing in some VT during this evening's Rose of Tralee festival coverage :) ) Photographers: Frederick Holland Mares, James Simonton Contributor: John Fortune Lawrence Collection: Stereo Pairs Photograph Collection Date: between ca. 1860-1883 NLI Ref: STP_1778 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 7956
Tags: thestereopairsphotographcollection lawrencecollection stereographicnegatives jamessimonton frederickhollandmares johnfortunelawrence williammervynlawrence nationallibraryofireland bridge dock



Industrial Schools, Letterfrack, Co. Galway
Description: Nestling under a twin of the Sugar Loaf Mountain is the Industrial School of Letterfrack. Set in the far wilds of Connemara it was known a feared place for its young occupants as much by reason of its dramatic location! Today's contributions (thankfully/unusually downbeat) highlighted how the pictured St Joseph's Industrial School, while initially set up with likely positive intentions, was so heavily referenced in the reports of the Commission to Inquire into Child Abuse that St Joseph of Letterfrack was labelled as "the cruel saint" by some. As per the comments below, based on the layout of the buildings pictured, it is expected that the 5 decade catalogue range (c.1860s-1910s) can be refined to perhaps a decade or so (c.1900-1910s).... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: Catalogue range of c.1865-1914. Likely c.1900-1910s. NLI Ref: L_ROY_05374 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 7788
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland letterfrack connemara countygalway



Sitka National Monument 1962-65, page 72 [Original Caption: Worm Woman by Lincoln Wallace]
Description: Creator(s): Department of the Interior. Indian Arts and Crafts Board. Alaska Field Office. ca. 1935-ca. 1983 Series: Correspondence, 1935 - 1983 Record Group 435: Records of the Indian Arts and Crafts Board, 1929 - 1988 Production Date: 1935 - 1983 Access Restriction(s):Unrestricted Use Restriction(s):Unrestricted Contact(s): National Archives at Seattle (RW-SE) 6125 Sand Point Way NE Seattle, WA 98115-7999 Phone: 206-336-5115 Fax: 206-336-5112 Email: [email protected] National Archives Identifier: 40847573 Local Identifier: SEAL-57 Persistent URL: catalog.archives.gov/id/40847573
Owner: The U.S. National Archives
Views: 2549
Tags: usnationalarchives alaskadigitizationproject



Tlingit Totem
Description: Creator(s): Department of the Interior. National Park Service. Alaska Region. 12/2/1980- (Most Recent) Department of the Interior. National Park Service. Pacific Northwest Region. 1970-1995 (Predecessor) Series: Alaska Task Force Photographs, 1972 - 1976 Record Group 79: Records of the National Park Service, 1785 - 2006 Production Date: 1972 - 1976 Access Restriction(s):Unrestricted Use Restriction(s):Unrestricted Contact(s): National Archives at Seattle (RW-SE) 6125 Sand Point Way NE Seattle, WA 98115-7999 Phone: 206-336-5115 Fax: 206-336-5112 Email: [email protected] National Archives Identifier: 42213912 Local Identifier: SEAL-609 Persistent URL: catalog.archives.gov/id/42213912
Owner: The U.S. National Archives
Views: 7490
Tags: “us national archives” “alaska digitization project”



Kilmanahan Castle, Clonmel, Co. Tipperary
Description: Yet another fine image of an Irish castle from the Lawrence Collection. When you see these shots of beautiful buildings you begin to realise the loss the country suffered during the course of the early part of the 20th century. This one has, not only the building, but also a resident and their mode of transport outside the front door! WIll we still be playing Elton John's 'I'm Still Standing' at the end of the day? Thankfully, based on today's inputs, we are happy to confirm that (though perhaps not in song form) that this castle is largely still standing. Though at least parts of it are in ruin - possibly with damage caused in the decades following this image. As our intrepid Flickroonies tell us, this castle lies on the eastern bank of the River Suir - right on the border between Co Waterford and Co Tipperary. The castle was seemingly associated with the Earls of Donoughmore, and DannyM8 offers some census returns for those in the building in 1901 and 1911 (perhaps even covering the lady pictured at the doorway...) Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date:between ca. 1865-1914 NLI Ref: L_ROY_05241 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 9216
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland kilmanahancastle clonmel countywaterford



Mitchelstown Castle, Co. Cork
Description: To begin the week one day late here is a magnificent building in Mitchelstown, Co. Cork. (As regards our last image, the dog's name was "Stop" - because every time he tried to run and play, his owner shouted "Stop!!") On today's (dog free) image, sharon.corbet highlighted that it should be added to our "No Longer Standing" album. It now has been - because this 19th century castle was burned down during the Irish Civil War. Myrtle26, DannyM8, beachcomber, and guliolopez help establish some extra context for events in and around the castle prior to its destruction. And O Mac confirms that the castle's very stones were reused in the building of the abbey at Mount Mellary.... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: between ca. 1865-1914 NLI Ref: L_ROY_01072 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 8713
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland mitchelstowncastle mitchelstown northcork



Spire of Lloyd, Kells, Co. Meath
Description: Another contribution from the Eason Collection to end off the week. I have seen this spire / tower many times while driving but I have never had the opportunity to visit it. Is it a pure folly or was it intended for some more practical use? With thanks in particular to contributions from B-59 and beachcomber we have learned that the tower doesn't have a specific practical use - other than perhaps as a viewing tower. Though built to resemble a lighthouse (and seemingly the "only inland lighthouse in Ireland"), the dedication inscription on the tower suggests that it was intended as a family memorial when commissioned by the then Marquess Headfort/Earl Bective. The NIAH entry tells us that it was designed and completed by architect Henry Aaron Baker c.1791..... Photographer: Unknown Collection: Eason Photographic Collection Date: between ca. 1900-1939 NLI Ref: EAS_3214 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 7262
Tags: eason easonson easoncollection easonphotographiccollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland ireland meath leinster spireoflloyd



Lansare de carte
Description: Lansare de carte Colecția Costică Acsinte, Foto Splendid volumul al II-lea „Doamne și domnițe“. Joi, 20 octombrie 2016, ora 19:00 la Voilà Bistrot, str. General Constantin Budișteanu nr. 18, București. www.facebook.com/events/1619227848106461/
Owner: Costică Acsinte Archive
Views: 1022
Tags: fotosplendid



The Lodge, Spa, Ballynahinch : commissioned by Terence G.Johnson, Esq
Description: To start the week is an unusual image from the Poole Collection. Labelled as "The Lodge, Spa, Ballynahinch, Co. Down : commissioned by Terence G.Johnson, Esq", this is unusual in that it is far from his normal range around south Munster and Leinster. This one is labelled as north of the border, apparently in the 1930s when the two parts of the island were going their separate ways.... ....When today's contributors couldn't seemingly find evidence of this house in Spa, County Down, sharon.corbet was (somehow through skill/graft/ESP or a mixture of all) able to confirm why: this isn't County Down at all. Rather, Sharon has confirmed that Poole didn't get this commission from more than 200 miles away in County Down, but from under 30 miles away: in Spa, County Tipperary. Closer to the usual Poole catchment area, and making way more sense, Sharon suggests that the Spa and Ballynahinch area of County Down was mistaken for "Raheen House, Spa, Ballynahinch, Co Tipperary" - where the family of Terence G(reer) Johnston lived... Photographer: A. H. Poole Collection: Poole Photographic Studio, Waterford Date: c.30 October 1930 NLI Ref: POOLEWP 3768 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 8157
Tags: ahpoole arthurhenripoole poolecollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland thelodgespa ballynahinch house garden possiblecataloguecorrection